Targaryen family tree: Who are the members from Game Of Thrones and House Of The Dragon? | The Sun

GAME Of Thrones prequel series House Of The Dragon has hit the small screen and fans are already drooling over the show.

The new series – whose trailer was released in June. – focuses on the ancestors of the royal family of dragon riders, the Targaryen family, and its civil war known as the Dance of Dragons.

Who are the members of the Targaryen family tree?

King Viserys Targaryen I

The fifth king in the royal Targaryen bloodline, Viserys I sits on the Iron Throne in the new series, House Of The Dragon.

He is the son of Baelon Targaryen and grandson of Jaehaerys I and is descended from Aegon I who took over Westeros and started the Targaryen dynasty generations earlier. Viserys is a dragon rider. 

From his first marriage to Aemma Arryn, he has a surviving heir, a daughter named Rhaenyra.

He remarries, this time to Alicent Hightower, and together they have three sons and a daughter – including the eldest son Aegon.

Rhaenyra Targaryen

The only surviving daughter of Viserys I and his previous wife, Rhaenyra is supposed to be the direct heir to the throne.

The dragon rider ends up fighting a civil war with her half-siblings – the children Viserys Ihad with Alicent Hightower.

Rhaenyra has two marriages – the first to Ser Laenor Velaryon with whom she has three sons and her second to her uncle Prince Daemon Targaryen, with whom she has two sons and a daughter: Aegon, Viserys, and Visenya.

She is not informed when her father dies, and half-brother Aegon takes over the Iron throne sparking a civil war.



I refused to attend my friend's Game Of Thrones-themed wedding

house warming

House of the Dragon review: GoT is SAVED with most explosive premiere yet

double take

Shameless twin stars Luke and Elliot Tittensor look unrecognisable 18 years on


Our ultimate guide to Game of Thrones prequel House of the Dragon

Daemon Targaryen

Prince Daemon Targaryen is King Viserys I's older brother, and the son of Prince Baelon Targaryen and his wife and sister Alyssa.

Daemon first marries Rhea Royce but is widowed. He then marries Laena Velaryon, who is also a Targaryen through her mother Rhaenys Targaryen. Together, they have two daughters.

When Laena dies in childbirth, the Prince marries his niece Rhaenyra Targaryen. Together, they have two sons and a daughter.

As Rhaenyra fights to claim the throne, Daemon – described as a "peerless warrior and a dragon rider" – becomes one of the biggest conquerors.

Aegon Targaryen

Prince Aegon is King Viserys I and his second wife Alicent Hightower's eldest son.

King Viserys I decides to hand the throne down to Aegon's half sisterRhaenyra, his heir.

This rivalry sparks the civil war. After King Viserys I 's death, Aegon accesses the throne and is crowned Aegon II.

Rhaenys Targaryen

Princess Rhaenys Targaryen, known as the Queen Who Never Was is the daughter of Prince Aemon Targaryen and his wife, Jocelyn Baratheon.

Dragon rider Rhaenys' grandfather Jaehaerys I was forced to choose a heir – Aemon's brother (Rhaenys's uncle) Baelon.

Rhaenys marries Corlys Velaryon with whom she has a daughter, Laena. Laena then marries Rhaenys's cousin, Daemon.

Rhaegar Targaryen

Long after the end of the civil war, Aerys II Targaryen is on the throne.

His son, Rhaegar – the eldest of three including Viserys and Daenerys Targaryen, is expected to be his heir.

While Rhaegar initially marries Elia Martell (with whom he has two children), he falls in love with Lyanna Stark, sparking a new civil war between the Starks and the Baratheons, and Targaryen after the other clans believe Rhaegar has kidnapped Lyanna.

Lyanna passed away giving birth to Rhaegar's secret son, Aegon.

As the war rages, the Targaryen dynasty is pushed aside and Aerys and Rhaegar are both killed.

Viserys Targaryen

After his father Aerys dies, Viserys escapes to Braavos with his sister Daenerys.

There, he conspires to reinstate the Targaryen family on the throne.

To achieve this, he plots to marry off his young sister to Khal Drogo, a Dothraki warlord. Viserys believes the alliance will bring him the Dothraki clan's support.

But as Daenerys' bond with the Dothraki grows deeper, Viserys enrages the clan by threatening and demanding Daenerys' unborn baby's crown.

The Dothraki kill him.

Daenerys Targaryen

Aerys II's youngest child Daenerys goes from being her brother Viserys' puppet to a powerful pretender to the throne.

After Vinerys is killed, Daenerys conjures up a plan to return to Westeros, and take over the throne.

After being married to Khal Drogo – albeit briefly – Daenerys miscarries their child, but hatches three dragon eggs.

The new generation dragons are called Rhaegal, Viserion and Drogon.

As she gathers an army and walks down on Westeros, she meets Jon Snow, with whom she falls in love.

The pair do not realise they are related.

As her quest to the throne chips away at her sanity, Daenerys goes mad and Jon ends up killing her.

Jon Snow

Jon Snow is the last surviving member of the Targaryen dynastic – although he does not know that.

He was raised to believe he was the son of Ned Stark and Wylla, when he is actually Aegon Targaryen and Ned's sister Lyanna's secret son.

At this point, Jon is the true heir to the Iron Throne.

    Source: Read Full Article

    Previous post Coronation Street theory: Custody battle for Sean Tully after Dylan drops bombshell
    Next post Vince ‘Nightrider’ Gil dead: Mad Max actor dies at 83 after sparking fears with ‘frailty’